Bookshelf Tour

Hey Readers!

Here it is – the long anticipated (at least by me) BOOKSHELF TOUR! This shelf took me two hours to put together, and boy was it worth it. AAAAAHH it is so so cool XD. Now, I don’t have too many books, and a lot of my decisions were spontaneous with only a vague idea of what I wanted, but it turned out way better than I had imagined!!!

So initially I wanted to have my standalones and series separate, with my standalones in rainbow order and my series in alphabetical. For the most part, I stuck to that, although I did completely scrap the alphabet. I had two tall cube shelves to work with, and about 6 or 7 boxes of books.

I situated the two shelves in the corner between my closet and bed, with my beanbag chair opposite them at the end of my bed to create the ideal reading nook. I started out by organizing the books by color. In the shuffle a few series made it into the standalone pile, but as they fit well with all the colors and didn’t need to be in a certain order, I let it slide.

Working with my sister to create a pleasing ombre of colors, I ended up with four shelves of rainbow books. My squishy animals, rainbow eraser, and Frozen 2 Anna figure accented the colors nicely.

I actually had extra space (I need more books!!!), so I filled it with figurines and a few boxes, including my shoebox of magazines. We also have my nail polish, backpack, and a chest of glitter pens! I also have a spoon from Denmark, which is a little random but it reminds me of my Legacy series?? I don’t know, it’s just cool. And my bookmobile derby car, which doesn’t drive well but it looks… yeah it doesn’t look that great either LOL.

Underneath my random-cool-stuff shelf, I have a bunch of random diaries from my childhood. AKA things I hope no one will read until I am long dead. Or just never. Honestly everyone would be a lot better off that way.

Moving on the the second bookshelf, we have all my series! Like I said before, I’d initially planned to organize alphabetically, but when I realized how much space one series could take up–and the fact that all my series are incomplete–I decided to let my aesthetic lead me. I decided to display my Harry Potter series in the top two shelves, right underneath my Hogwarts Castle Lego set.

Underneath The Wizarding World we have my beat up paperbacks and pristine hardcovers. How or why I decided to separate them, I don’t know, it was like 10:30 at night and I was very tired. Although yes, I know, there’s one hardback and one paperback switched. I was judging on cracks in the spine, okay? That being said, I love all my books equally. Some are just more loved than others.

On the next tier of shelves we have my colorful childhood “series”* and the dreary A Series of Unfortunate Events. I have two of Ramona and Her Mother because, and I’m sure I’m not alone in this, forgot I had it already and got very excited when I saw it at a thrift store for 50 cents. At least the new one is the same edition as the other two! And why did I choose my McDonald’s Furby to accompany the Baudelaires?

Furbies are terrifying, that’s why.

*italics because only a few of them are actually a continuous story. Cases in point, the Ramona series vs the Dear America books.

On our bottommost tier we have a mystery series that I received from one of my former teachers, and my Chicken Soup books, which I have read way too many times. Oh, and my tiny cabinet that used to be in my locker. It just has pens and sticky notes. On top of it, though, I have my puzzle cube, which I built in 7th grade and am very proud of.

Finally, on the very top of the two shelves I situated as many figurines I could fit (I’m very big on decor XD wait until you guys see my room tour!) On the left we have the bouquet from my eighth grade musical, my squishy rainbow cow, a photo album, a pink zebra plushie, a quote about friendship, and the golden owl I found in a scavenger hunt. The owl hunt was pretty funny, they had it every week for the whole summer with different tiny owls and mystery locations, and they would give clues as to what the locations were. My owl was hidden at the church next to my school so I knew instantly where it was. His name is Doctor Owlfindu, by the way. He sends his regards.

On the right we have my only Lego set, the Hogwarts Castle, which I received for Christmas in 2018 and took me nearly and hour to build. I had to stuff it with packing peanuts in the hopes that it wouldn’t collapse in the move, and gratefully only a few pieces fell off. I think I added a tower in the middle of the Great Hall, but it’s no big deal. Lined up in front we have all my characters, except for Luna Lovegood and Jacob Kowalski, who are sat on the shelf with the books.

Overall I’m extremely happy with my shelves. They definitely made me feel more at home amidst all my boxes and bags. I can’t wait to grow my collection even more!

Here’s the whole shelf. It’s magnificent, right?? I am OBSESSED.

That’s all for today, friends! Thanks for reading, and have an awesome weekend. Staying at home all day is such a great excuse to redesign your own bookshelf. I want to see yours! Let me know how you’ve been holding up, I’m praying for you guys. Thanks for stopping by, until next time, keep reading!

–Jaedyn

2 comments

Leave a comment